Are you prepared?

2.37am…. And another disrupted night. Feels like they’re newborns again, but worse because they’re up every hour…. Always someone in our bed… Or all three at some point of the night. Temperatures rising, rashes galore, diarrhea, super clingy understandably…. These are the “joys” of teething… Oh did I tell you it’s the back teeth?

Any other parents out there who know what we’re going through, just raise your hand. hheeeyyyyy *waves*

image

Last night, while I was laying down in my bed, with one babies foot in my face another baby on my chest and the other one fussing…. It dawned on me, Mr.J and I weren’t prepared this time round for the teething.

Let me explain what I mean by prepared… A friend once told me,

“don’t wait for the situation in your child’s life to happen, pray for the next stage from now”

Since then, we’ve been doing just that. Praying for their future and their next stages, rather than just praying in the moment. We’ve been praying about potty training for the past few months and about our girls moving into their room…. Their next stages.

But for some reason, we forgot they were going to get more teeth. I mean, we knew more teeth would come at some point, but we didn’t prepare…. We didn’t pray before hand and ask God for the strength to deal with it when it came. We didn’t pray that He would prepare our girls for the trial that they were about to face (babies have trials too… And I think teething is a pretttttyyyyy big one for them). We became slack, lost focus, distracted.

There was a lesson for us here.

I strongly believe that Jesus is coming soon, and the Bible says,

“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son,    but only the Father. 

As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.

For in the days before the flood, people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day Noah entered the ark;  and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. That is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.”

Matthew 24:36-39 NIV

There are three main points here.

1. No one knew when the flood was going to coming, most didn’t believe a flood was actually going to come, after all… They had never seen rain before. But it came.

Mr. J and I didn’t know when the girls teeth were coming again, but best believe they came (and there’s still more to come.)

No one knows when Jesus is coming… But best believe, He is coming again.

2. In the days of Noah, Noah warned everyone about the flood for 120 years, but they didn’t listen or make preparations, they thought they had all the time in the world.

We also get told about the teething stage, we’ve been through it a couple times before, but just because there was a longggggg gap inbetween the last set of teeth coming through and the ones that are cutting now, we didn’t think to prepare ourselves. We thought we had all the time in the world. 

Jesus said He is coming again, but because there’s been such a long gap, we’re failing to listen to the warning cries and prepare.

3. They were eating, drinking,  marrying and giving in marriage until Noah went into the ark, and they knew nothing …. They were caught up in their day to day life with no thought for what was to come

Mr J and I were caught up with daily life, not that this is a bad thing…. I mean we have to function right? But we were so caught up in the here and now we didn’t take a moment to think about the future,  the what’s next and what do we have to prepare for now.

And this is how it’ll be at the coming of Jesus. There’s nothing wrong with eating, or drinking,  or marrying…. But when this takes priority over us waiting and watching for the coming of Christ, and making preparations to meet Him, we will have a problem,  because like those in the days of Noah we will be left wondering what happened? Where did the time go? I thought I had time before Jesus came?

This experience has reminded me that I need to be preparing myself daily for what is to come, Christ’s second coming. I need to be careful not to get caught up in my day to day activities, or in worldly things but to always have my mind focused on God. The Bible says,

It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ,

Titus 2:12-13 NIV

I guess the question is, will we be prepared or be caught unaware? These sleepless nights and the bad teething experience, I believe, is God’s way of reminding me and Mr.J, refocus your lives, look to me only, wake up and prepare for my coming, for I am coming soon. 

image

(photo from world’s last chance)

Jesus is coming soon!

Have a blessed day. Keep smiling 😀

Triplet Mama Smith x

6 thoughts on “Are you prepared?

Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Talking to My Weight Loss Counselor-God! and commented:
    I know this isn’t about overeating or losing weight. But could teething be compared to food addiction? I know that both I and these babies cry about our issues.
    I’ve been known to say if it was socially acceptable for adults to have pacifiers, then there would be less smoking, less alcoholism, less food addiction, etc. Back when I used to teach middle school, the star basketball player used to sit in my class and suck on his pacifier. No one said a word to him and he had good grades too. So maybe they are somewhat similar. I want mine to be covered in bling, thank you.
    Deborah
    It does make interesting reading. It is so “The Truth”, I felt led to re-post this. Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

