12 Bible Texts for Mothers

Last night, after a long and tiring week I decided to make a list of Bible texts I memorise and recall them when I have both good and bad situations. Then I thought, let me not be selfish now, let me share with other mums the texts I have found. So here it goes….

image

From experience (I can say that now) being a mum comes with lots of different emotions and feelings. It can range from being grateful, happy, ecstatic to sad, lonely or fearful. But God is so amazing because He knew mums would have one of these emotions at some point in their lives, He knew how heavy the weight and the responsibility of motherhood would be. He knew we would feel joy every time our child smiles at us, or learns to tie their shoe lace by themselves for the first time, pride and happiness when our child takes their first step, fear of the unknown dangers waiting for our child such as falling over or falling in love and getting hurt by someone else, exhaustion from the 24/7 job of motherhood. God knew all this and gave us promises in His word for every emotion and every situation. I have only covered 12, but there are so many more texts, it was really hard for me to just pick one.

Love

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command John 15:13 (NIV)

You know when you look at your child and have an overwhelming feeling of love towards them, you want to protect them, care for them like no other…the love you feel for your child is nothing compared to the love God has towards you. Remember: God loves you!

Guilty 

23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. Romans 3:23-24

There are many reasons mums feel guilty, me personally, U felt guilty that i didn’t breastfeed my girls for long enough, when Miss Nae fell off our bed, among many others. It may be that you feel guilty about something you have done in the past, but God doesn’t want us to hold onto that guilt. Yes we have all done something we are not proud off, we have all sinned, but Jesus died for us that we can be saved. We just need to come to Jesus, confess our wrongs and believe that God has forgiven us and do better, with God’s help.  Remember: God forgives you

Stressed

27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27

There’s always something to do, something to think about, something to remember. God wants us to slow down and just have peace, peace of mind. No that it is going to be o.k and work out alright. Remember: God wants you to have peace of mind  

Depressed

I waited patiently for the Lordhe turned to me and heard my cry.He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him. Psalms 40:1-3

See, it doesn’t matter how low you feel, how far down you may be in the pit… God can bring you out! God can lift you up! Just trust in Him. Remember: God can lift you out of any situation.

Happy/ Joyful 

Praise the Lord, my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. Psalms 103:1

Sometimes words cant express how happy I am. (I’m telling you, motherhood is an emotional roller coaster). There are days when I am on top of the moon. I know you have had those days. Smiles, laughter, just sheer positivity all around. All I can do is praise God. But we shouldn’t only praise God in the good times, but also in the hard times. Remember: God loves it when we are happy.

Fear

So do not fear, for I am with you, do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10 

Oh my days, I never experience the feeling of fear as I have since I have become a mum. Its normal for us to fear for our children, but I have found that sometimes my fears prevent me from allowing my girls to grow and develop. I have to learn to let go and trust that God has my childrens best interest at heart and He knows what is best for them. Remember:God doesn’t want us to fear but to just trust Him.

Overworked/ wornout 

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.Matthew 11:28

There are many days I just want to crawl into bed, pull the covers over my head and sleep… but when I look at the time it is only 11am and it feels like I’ve been going forever. There’s times I want to give up, give in, say “that’s it now I’m done”… but I cant. God knows I’m tired and at times wornout, but He says give me your heavy load, your worries cares, everything.. I’ll carry it for you. Remember: God wants to give you rest. 

Tired

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Galatians 6:9

Don’t give up mummy!! God sees the good you do for your family, your partner, your children. He sees when you do the chores, change endless nappies, wake up during the night to check on your children, even those night time feeds. He sees its all and you will be repaid. Remember: God sees your efforts. 

Lonely

Though my father and mother forsake me, the Lord will receive me. Psalms 27:10

There are times as a mum, life can get lonely, you may find yourself in a place where there is no one around you, no one you can really talk to, no one to help you. But don’t forget you are God’s and He wants you to be part of His family. Remember: God is there for you. You are not alone. 

Worried

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

Its so easy to worry. When you think about it there’s so much you can worry about… is my child safe, will I have enough money to pay the bills, how will I afford my child’s school trip. Stop! God doesn’t want you to have to worry. He says to pray, be thankful… God will answer your prayers, it may not be in the way you expect it to be answered, but it will be answered. Remember: God knows your needs and will provide all your needs. 

Endless housework 

14 Do everything without grumbling or arguing, 15 so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”[a] Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky. Philippians 2:14-15 

This is hard, I won’t pretend… But God wants you to do all things without grumbling. This means to be cheerful, with a smile on your face.. its a privilege to be able to help others, that is what you are doing after all mums. Remember: God wants you to shine and be an example to your children and those around you. 

Thanksgiving 

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. Psalms 118:1

There are good days right? You know when everything is going well, the children are well behaved, you haven’t burned the food, your partner comes home to a lovely cooked meal, clean house and children ready for bed. Give thanks and praise. Remember: God loves it when we give Him thanks and praise.

I have these texts in a word document t that you can print off, if you would like me to send them to you just leave me a comment or send me your email address, I’ll be more than happy to share them with you.

I hope you are blessed by these texts, if you have any texts that keep you going throughout the day please let me know so I can add them to my list of texts to memorise.

Have a great day, God bless and keep smiling 😀

12 Bible Texts for Mothers

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

